onedrive this file is read only you need to be given
edit permissions to this file to sync it [Solved]
Scenario:
We recently had an issue with the error above when the users 365 accounts (2 of them) needed to be combined into 1. His default email address was his new account, but the majority of his data (Teams, To Do, OneDrive ETC) was all linked to his old account.
So our approach was to rename his old account with the majority of his data to the name of the new account. This worked fine, Teams, To Do, Outlook all worked nicely but on signing back into his OneDrive account nothing was being downloaded (sync'd) his local OneDrive folder was empty even though when signing in online using the same account we could see all his data.
When adding a new folder or file to his local OneDrive we would get the error "OneDrive this file is read only you need to be given edit permissions to this file to sync it"
Solution:
1. Sign out of OneDrive → click OneDrive icon (cloud icon bottom right corner) → click help & settings → click settings → click unlink this PC
2. Use regedit to remove 2 keys → using the windows search bar type regedit → click run as administrator
Go to location →
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft \Office\16.0\Common\Identity
Delete 2 keys = identities & profiles
4. Remove work/school accounts from settings → using the windows search bar type and click settings → click accounts → click access work or school → click to highlight each 365 account and click disconnect (In solving this problem we removed 2 accounts)
5. Sign back into OneDrive with your primary 365 account and you should be fixed and syncing normally again.
Please note you will likely need to sign in to all office apps again (Word, Excel ETC) so do not do this if you are not 100% sure of your login credentials. Editing the registry on your PC can do permanent damage, if you are not 100% sure about doing this yourself please seek expert help/advice.
gorazy.com open internet promise...
We believe in a free and open internet. Our users are never and will never be tracked! You will never see pointless annoying pop-ups or be asked to allow notifications. If you like the sound of an internet more like this share the message.